About UsAdmissionsAcademicsCampus LifeAthleticsAlumniParentsGiving

School News

Parker Receives Kaleidoscope Award for Exceptional Governance
Posted 01/11/2013 03:32PM
At the 2013 University of San Diego Nonprofit Governance Symposium, Francis Parker School was presented with the 2012 Kaleidoscope Award for Exceptional Governance. Head of School Kevin Yaley, along with Board Chair William Jones and board members Tom Bancroft and Kathy Purdon, were on stage to accept the prestigious honor. Several additional board members were in the audience for the presentation.

The Kaleidoscope Award is designed to recognize, celebrate, promote and inspire excellence in nonprofit governance. The Francis Parker School Board of Trustees was selected over all other nominees for “their ability to demonstrate board accountability through evidence of principled fiduciary, strategic and generative governance.”

Following the award announcement, Yaley, Jones, Bancroft and Purdon remained on stage with USD Assistant Professor Dr. Mary McDonald for a panel presentation and a Q&A session for symposium attendees.

During the panel, it was clear that the guiding principles of the Parker Board are their focus in honoring the School’s mission, their willingness to tackle tough issues head-on, and their conscientious determination to lay the foundation for the School's future. Another notable feature—our Board has eight standing committees, consisting of more than 100 volunteers from alumni, the parent body, and beyond, all of whom serve generously on behalf of the School. Asked about the Board's composition, William Jones replied, "We strive for good representation of not only the community we serve, but the San Diego community as well." In describing the group's work ethic, Tom Bancroft said, "We're always pleased, but we're never satisfied," indicative of their commitment to Francis Parker School, and their leadership by example.

“Often the work of our Board of Trustees happens behind the scenes, without garnering the attention and thanks that is so richly deserved,” said Yaley. “The Kaleidoscope Award is a public confirmation of what we have all known and felt for some time about every member of our Francis Parker School Board of Trustees.”

The Board of Trustees at Parker include: Tom Bancroft, Shelley Benoit, Dee Anne Canepa, Andrew Clark, Kurt Eve, Jane Fetter, Susan Fox ’86, David Gamboa, Robert Gleason, Terry Gooding, Bill Gurtin, Julia Ingram, Craig Irving ’80, Randy Jones, William Jones (Chair), Bert Liang, Michael O’Halloran, Kathy Purdon, Jeff Silberman ’75, Ham Southworth, Warren Spieker, Jan Steinert, Ted Tchang ’81, Steve Tomlin, Jeff Von Behren ’90, Sarah White and Brent Woods.

© 2015 Francis Parker School
Mission Hills Campus
Lower School
4201 Randolph Street
San Diego, CA 92103
619 / 298-9110
Linda Vista Campus
Middle/Upper School
6501 Linda Vista Road
San Diego, CA 92111
858 / 569-7900
Follow us on social media:

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite